Washington State University

Grays Harbor County Extension

weed district map

Noxious Weed Control Board

The Grays Harbor County Noxious Weed Control Board consists of five voting members, appointed to serve by the Grays Harbor County Commissioners. Each appointee shall reside in and represent one of the five county districts. One non-voting member shall be the county extension agent or an agent appointed by the chair.

The 2014 Grays Harbor County Noxious Weed Control Board:

  • Ernest Nelson, chair - District 5
  • Louis Messmer - District 2
  • Vacant - District 3
  • Darrel Ronholt - District 1
  • Grace Stiller - District 4
  • Dr. Kim Patten - interim ex-officio

The State Weed List is designated by the Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board.

Each County Weed Board has the flexibility to address local weed control priorities. Developing annual county lists from the State Class A and B designates and then choosing from the rest of the State B & C lists can most effectively target weed invasions on a local level. The Grays Harbor County Noxious Weed Control Board meets on the second Wednesday of every month from 10:30 to noon at the WSU Extension meeting room in Elma. The public weed hearing for creating the County's weed list is usually held at the end of February.

By controlling noxious weeds landowners protect life and health, improve habitat for fish and wildlife, maintain native plant communities and minimize the impacts to agriculture production. All state listed noxious weeds are non-native plants that have been introduced to Washington through human actions.

County field staff are available for community education programs and consultations with land owners to discuss weed management options including measures to prevent the establishment of noxious weeds on their own property.

The link to Grays Harbor 2014 Weed List is here.

2014 Grays Harbor County Weed List

Contact The Grays Harbor County Weed Board Office for more information:

In Grays Harbor County Contact
Noxious Weed Control Board
Nancy Ness, coordinator
Located in Elma at Grays Harbor County Agricultural Center,
32 Elma-McCleary Rd
Mail address: P.O. Box 3018,
Elma, WA 98541
Phone: (360) 482-2265 - FAX: (360) 482-2662








WSU Grays Harbor Extension provides educational programs to the people of Grays Harbor County,
based on community need, where education can make a difference.
Grays Harbor County Extension, P O Box 3018, Elma, WA 98541-3018, 360-482-2934, Contact Us